Google Photos has blown up since it launched a few years ago.
Google claims now the service has 500 million monthly active users worldwide, and about 1.2 billion photos and videos are uploaded to Google Photos every day.
At Google I/O, the company announced a couple new features that make it easier for you to share photos with the people that matter most: suggested sharing and shared libraries.
Suggested sharing is that little nudge most of us need to actually share those photos we promised to share with our friends. Now you’ll receive notifications after you’ve taken a bunch of photo that remind you to share those images with both the people in the photos and your loved ones.
In the Google Photos app, you’ll receive suggestions of people to share photos with, including anyone the app has identified in the photos themselves.
Once you choose the photos you want to share via Google Photos and the recipients, those people will get a notification that photos have been shared with them.
If one of them doesn’t have Google Photos installed on their device (the app is available for Android and iOS), they’ll be sent a message prompting them to download the app and see the photos you’ve shared with them.
Google Photos will also suggest photos to share to those recipients as well, in case they have images similar to those in your shared albums and want to send them out to the group as well.
Read 4 remaining paragraphs