Enlarge / So do the Lasker awards. (credit: Getty | NurPhoto)
For 72 years, the prestigious Lasker Awards in biomedical research and public service have gone to top researchers and leaders “who have made major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, cure, or prevention of human disease.” The awards are seen as “America’s Nobels” by some and many winners also win Nobels—87 of them, to be exact.
This year’s winners are no different.

But their awarding comes with a hint of a political message.
The winners are Douglas Lowy and John Schiller, National Cancer Institute researchers who worked to develop a vaccine to prevent cervical cancer and other tumors caused by caused by human papillomaviruses (HPV); Michael Hall, a molecular biologist who made advances in understanding fundamentals of cell growth controlled by nutrient-activated TOR proteins; and Planned Parenthood for “providing essential health services and reproductive care to millions of women for more than a century.”
Read 5 remaining paragraphs

Leave a Reply